Mohammedan SC

Maidan, Tent, Indira Gandhi Sarani, Maidan, Kolkata, West Bengal 700021

Visit Official website

Mohammedan SC

Mohammedan Sporting Club is an Indian professional multi-sports club based in KolkataWest Bengal. Its football team competes in I-League the second-tier of Indian football, as well as in Calcutta Football League (CFL), the oldest football league in Asia. Formed in February 1891, the football division is one of the oldest active football clubs in the country.

It was over three decades later since the foundation, the club became affiliated with the Indian Football Association (IFA) to play in the second division of CFL before earning promotion to the premier division of CFL in 1933 and a year later, Mohammedan became the first Indian team to win the league and in 1938 became the first team to win it for five consecutive times. After the independence of India, Mohammedan became the first Indian club to win a football tournament on foreign soil by lifting the Aga Khan Gold Cup in 1960. In 1996, the club was one of the founding members of India’s first nationwide league – National Football League (NFL). Mohammedan has never won a top-tier league, only managing to win the 2004–05 NFL Second Division to qualify for NFL and the 2020 I-League Qualifiers to qualify for I-League, which was then the first-tier league of India. They have won the Federation Cup twice in 1983–84 and 1984–85.

News More News